1990 – 2007


1990 Laurence Mooney OSA elected Provincial, initially reident at Newcastle. 1991 Pastoral Plan was adopted by the Province.

1993 Withdrawal from Innisfail parish, North Queensland

1994 Withdrawal from parishes of Rochester and Redland Bay and closure of Newcastle community.

1995 The Province assumed responsibility for the parishes of St Clair (Parramatta Diocese, NSW) and Goodna (Brisbane). With the Goodna parish went responsibility for the ecumenical ministry at the new housing estate at Springfield.

1997 Opening of the Centre for Augustinian Spirituality/Formation at Greystanes (Parramatta Diocese).

1998 Patrick Fahey OSA elected Provincial. Establishment of Augustinian Friends an association of laity with an interest in Augustinian spirituality.

1999 For the first time a meeting of Asia – Pacific Augustinian Conference (APAC) takes place in Australia.

2001 1st National Augustinian Lay Congress – April, Echuca, Victoria.

The Cardinal at Brookvale (AU566)

Photo at right: St Augustine’s College, Brookvale (L to R): Patrick Fahey OSA, Cardinal Edward Clancy and Peter Jones OSA at St Augustine’s College, Brookvale in 2005.

2002 50th anniversary celebration for the Province of Our Mother of Good Counsel at St James’ Parish, Coorparoo, Qld.

2004 2nd National Augustinian Lay Congress – October, Brookvale, NSW.

2004 Withdrawal from the Parish of Goodna, Brisbane, which also had contained ecumenical ministry in a newly-developed area named Springfield.

2005 Withdrawal from the Parish of Echuca in northern Victoria.

2006 Withdrawal from the Parish of Kyabram in northern Victoria.

2006 Amalgamation of the former adjacent parishes of Manly Vale and Balgowlah (Sydney) into the Parish of North Harbour.

2006 Anthony Banks OSA elected Provincial.

2007 Two laymen employed to assist with social justice and youth ministry.

2007 3rd National Congress for Augustinian Laity, South Yarra, Melbourne